The Topanga Historical Society (THS) was organized in 1974 by a group of dedicated community leaders who recognized the urgent need to collect and preserve records of Topanga’s unique history and to make them available to future generations. The Society maintains an archive center and presents quarterly local history programs.


Archive Center (by appointment only Рcall Todd Kliewer at 424-272-1018)

Topanga Historical Society
120 S. Topanga Canyon Blvd., Unit 206
Topanga, CA 90290


Topanga Historical Society
P.O. Box 1214
Topanga, CA 90290


Archive Center

The archive library contains a rich collection of local history materials which includes back issues of three Topanga newspapers, a large photograph and document collection and community organization records.

Audio/Video Program

The Topanga Historical Society produces audio and video programs about Topanga historical topics. With equipment, training and help the society is ready to support community members with projects ranging from setting a simple recorder in front of a friend to creating micro-documentaries with broadcast quality equipment. If you have suggestions and wish to participate please contact us.

Quarterly Programs

The THS quarterly meetings begin with a potluck dinner, or a picnic, followed by a local history program. January, April and July meetings are held at the Topanga Community House on the third Wednesday of each month, unless otherwise noted, and include a potluck dinner at 7:00 p.m. followed by the presentation at 8:00 p.m. The October meeting is held at various Topanga sites on the third Sunday of the month, unless otherwise noted, with a picnic at noon and the program at 1:00 p.m.

Board Meetings

The Board of Directors meets the first Monday of each month (except for August) at 7:30 p.m. in the Society’s Pine Tree Circle office. All members are invited to attend these meetings.

Board of Directors


Buz Tarlow – President
Anne-Christine Von Wetter – Vice President
Ed O’Neill – Treasurer
Pablo Capra – Secretary

Members at Large

Bill Buerge
Eric Dugdale
Teresa Hames
Scott King
Joy Kliewer
Todd Kliewer
Wes Mathur
Gail McTune
Joe Sloan

Emeritus Board Members

Barbara Allen
Rebecca Catterall
Ken Douphner
Ami Kirby
Nancy Saul-Larson
Kimmy Burres-Liliedahl
Julia Swanson
Kathy Virkler